Review: Along Came a Duke

Along Came a Duke
Along Came a Duke by Elizabeth Boyle
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I had high hopes for this book, but they didn’t exactly pan out. Not to say I didn’t like it overall, it just wasn’t what I expected.

The thing that kept driving me crazy, and I know this my be minor, was the fact that Tabitha never knew Preston’s name. His christian name was only said once that I could recall, and that was when his aunt was giving him a dressing down. She (Tabitha) went through most of the book thinking he was Mr. Preston and then she found out he was really the Duke of Preston and that his surname was actually Seldon. I think that point was only brought up because her friend was a Dale and apparently there is some feud between the Dales and the Seldons.

The only thing that she really learned about him was that he was handsome, could be kind, she was attracted to him, and about his childhood. The didn’t spend much time together, and it definitely wasn’t love at first sight, so I guess I was taken out of the story trying to figure out the how and the way of this love match.

If one of you figures it out, let me know.

That being said, the time that they spent together sparing (verbally), that was fun to see, I just wish she spoke up as much to the people around her as she did with Preston. It kept being said that she speaks her mind, but when it really mattered she let people run all over her.

Here’s hoping the next book is better.

View all my reviews


Leave a comment