Review: Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things

Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things
Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things by Jenny Lawson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I am seriously in awe. Jenny Lawson is pretty freaking amazing. This is a first time that I had the pleasure of reading her work. I came across it due to a reading challenge. The task for said challenge was for me to read a book that has won or been nominated for a Goodreads choice award. My first choice was actually Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir, because I have a thing about reading books of this genre in the order they were published, but my library didn’t have a copy.

I read every single word in this book from the first to the last, including the acknowledgements, which I never usually do, but I didn’t want to miss a word.

It takes a brave soul to share their struggles with the masses, and she does it in such a way that rather you share the same illnesses as she does or have your own, you can relate and it makes you feel better about yourself because now you know that you are not alone.

Thank you Jenny for being so open, I don’t have the same illness that you do, but I go through life wondering if I am doing a good enough job in daily activities, rather it is parenting, career, marriage, friendship. Reading your story opened my eyes to the fact that I am not the only one who feels inadequate sometimes. It is normal, I suppose, to feel question rather you are doing enough or good enough.

View all my reviews


Leave a comment